Bioinformatics Tools & Tricks: Hands-On Tutorial for Biologists

Do you want to learn how to analyze large gene lists using free web resources? Visualize functional modules among genes? Extract protein-interaction networks involving specific proteins or genetic diseases? Identify DNA regions associated with a disease? Find protein-DNA binding sites and motifs? We will show you how to accomplish these and many other common analysis tasks within minutes, using popular free bioinformatics and statistical software.

Each hands-on tutorial will present a sequence of analysis steps: from choosing the right tools, to analyzing the data, to making publication-quality figures. We will pay particular attention to common pitfalls in using bioinformatics software and web resources. No prior knowledge of computer programming, statistics or machine learning is required – all necessary concepts will be introduced during the tutorial.

Schedule

Fall 2017:


Date Duration Room Topic
Tues Sep 12 12:15 – 1:30PM Event 2a Protein interaction networks and resouces
Tues Sep 19 12:15 – 1:30PM Event 2a Visual analysis of networks in Cytoscape
Tues Sep 26 *12:00 – 1:00PM Multi-media Room Introduction to R programming
Tues Oct 3 12:15-1:30PM Event 1 Exploratory data analysis and visualization in R
Tues Oct 10 12:15-1:30PM Event 3a Advanced data analysis and predictive models in R
Oct 17 — No tutorials due to ASHG conference —
Tues Oct 24 12:15 – 1:30PM Event 3a Gene Ontology and enrichment analysis
Tues Oct 31 12:15 – 1:30PM Multi-media Room Introduction to Next Generation Sequencing
Tues Nov 7 12:15 – 1:30PM Multi-media Room Next-Generation Sequencing data resources
Tues Nov 14 12:15 – 1:30PM Multi-media Room Analysis of Next-Generation Sequencing data
Tues Nov 21 12:15 – 1:30PM Multi-media Room Genome arithmetic in R: gene coordinates, regions, variants
Tues Nov 28 *12:00 – 1:30PM Multi-media Room Analysis of RNA-seq data
Wed Dec 6 *11:30-1:00PM Multi-media Room Introduction to machine learning in computational biology

We encourage you to bring your laptop to explore sample datasets under our guidance

  • Bring your own lunch
  • * These tutorials start at a different time