Bioinformatics Tools & Tricks: Hands-On Tutorial for Biologists

Do you want to learn how to analyze large gene lists using free web resources? Visualize functional modules among genes? Extract protein-interaction networks involving specific proteins or genetic diseases? Identify DNA regions associated with a disease? Find protein-DNA binding sites and motifs? We will show you how to accomplish these and many other common analysis tasks within minutes, using popular free bioinformatics and statistical software.

Each hands-on tutorial will present a sequence of analysis steps: from choosing the right tools, to analyzing the data, to making publication-quality figures. We will pay particular attention to common pitfalls in using bioinformatics software and web resources. No prior knowledge of computer programming, statistics or machine learning is required – all necessary concepts will be introduced during the tutorial.

Schedule

Fall 2019:


Date Time Room Topic
Tue Sep 10 12:15 – 1:30 PM Event 3A/B Introduction to R programming
Tue Sep 17 12:15 – 1:30 PM Event 3A/B Exploratory data analysis in R
Tue Sep 24 – No tutorials —
Tue Oct 01 12:15 – 1:30 PM Multimedia Statistical tests and models in R
Tue Oct 08 12:15 – 1:30 PM Event 1 Data visualization in R
Tue Oct 15 12:15 – 1:30 PM Multimedia Data clustering and unsupervised learning in R
Tue Oct 22 12:15 – 1:30 PM Event 1 Advanced analysis and predictive models in R
Tue Oct 29 12:15 – 1:30 PM Multimedia Introduction to Next-Generation Sequencing
Tue Nov 05 12:15 – 1:30 PM Event 3A DNA methylation analysis
Tue Nov 12 12:15 – 1:30 PM Multimedia Next-Generation Sequencing data resources
Tue Nov 19 12:15 – 1:30 PM Multimedia Analysis of Next-Generation Sequencing data using Galaxy
Tue Nov 26 12:15 – 1:30 PM Event 3B Analysis of RNA-seq data

 

We encourage you to bring your laptop to explore sample datasets under our guidance

  • Bring your own lunch