Menu Close

Bioinformatics Training

Bioinformatics Tools & Tricks: Hands-On Tutorial for Biologists

Do you want to learn how to analyze your data using free tools and web resources? Do you want to try machine learning, AI and predictive modelling? We will show you how to accomplish these and many other common analysis tasks within minutes, using popular free bioinformatics and statistical software. 

Each hands-on tutorial will present a sequence of analysis steps: from choosing the right tools, to analyzing the data, to making publication-quality figures. We will pay particular attention to common pitfalls in using bioinformatics software and web resources.  

No prior knowledge of computer programming, statistics or machine learning is required – all necessary concepts will be introduced during the tutorial. 

Schedule – Fall 2020

Date Time Topic 
Tue Sep 15 12:00 – 1:30 PM Introduction to R programming 
Tue Sep 22 12:00 – 1:30 PM Exploratory data analysis in R 
Tue Sep 29 12:00 – 1:30 PM Data visualization in R 
Tue Oct 06 12:00 – 1:30 PM Statistical tests and models in R 
Tue Oct 13 12:00 – 1:30 PM Machine learning models and metrics in R 
Tue Oct 20 12:00 – 1:30 PM Advanced analysis and predictive models in R 
Tue Oct 27 12:00 – 1:30 PM Data clustering and unsupervised learning in R 
Tue Nov 03 12:00 – 1:30 PM Introduction to Next-Generation Sequencing 
Tue Nov 10 12:00 – 1:30 PM Next-Generation Sequencing data resources 
Tue Nov 17 12:00 – 1:30 PM Analysis of Next-Generation Sequencing data using R 
Tue Nov 24 12:00 – 1:30 PM Analysis of RNA-seq data 

For registration and more information, please contact Andrei Turinsky (turinsky@sickkids.ca). All seminars will be conducted on Zoom, with links provided upon registration.